Connections enable you to send and/or receive data to and/or from other people or organisations. You can set up your PDS to have a connection with another organisation so that you can send data to that organisation or receive data from them. You can always choose who to connect with and what data is shared but these connections enable you to share some of your data with another person or organisation and, in some instances, for that organisation to update your data if you have given them permission to do so.
 
Connections exist to help you and can make your PDS much more valuable to you. Every connection and its value to you will be different but, for example, some connections will make certain things easier to do, potentially saving you time and money and also will help ensure that connected organisations have exactly the information about you that you want them to know, such as consistent and accurate address data. Other connections will enable you, if you wish, to share appropriate financial information or perhaps help you provide proof of who you are to an organisation that needs to be certain of your identity.
 
Additional connections will become available as organisations embrace Mydex’s service and in all instances you will have total control over what data is shared with them and what, if any, right they may have to update some of the data in your PDS. The only data shared between you and the third party will be that which is specifically authorised by you. To ensure it is totally secure this data is encrypted before transferring and only you and the third party will be able to see it. As a result even we at Mydex will have no visibility of it.
 
When you create your new PDS you will start with one connection only and that is to Mydex itself. To see this connection click on ‘Connections’ in the menu on the left of the screen. The ‘My Connections’ tab will be highlighted at the top of the screen and all your existing connections (initially just Mydex) are displayed here.
 
To see the details of a particular connection including the permissions that apply to data sharing and updating click on ‘Edit’ to the right of the corresponding connection. If you click on ‘About the connection’ that will give you more information relating to the way the connection is used by the third party to exchange data and information with you.

 
The ‘Permissions’ display specifically shows which separate pieces of data you are prepared to send to someone else and what data you are willing to receive from them. If you want to send a piece of data to a third party (i.e. a person or organisation) then this means they can READ a piece of information stored in your PDS. If you want to receive then that means they can WRITE something into your PDS. You can then also choose whether or not you want this READ or WRITE activity to happen automatically or each time require a specific agreement from you. So the ‘Permissions’ options can be summarised as follows:

  • Read (from your PDS) - you are sending data so that the connected person or organisation can read a specific piece of data stored in your PDS
  • Write (to your PDS) - you are willing to receive information from the connected person or organisation and this will update a specific piece of data in your PDS

For each ‘read’ or ‘write’ permission there are two further options:

  • Request - the connected person or organisation must explicitly request permission from you to carry out the corresponding read or write action
  • Automatic - the connected person or organisation can carry out the read or write action without explicitly asking you each time

Some connections only work if certain data is passed across the connection and in which case the sharing permission associated with this data is ‘mandatory’.
All connection information bars are colour coded as shown in the diagram above so that it is easy to see exactly what permissions are set as follows.

  • Green - permission granted
  • Red - permission denied
  • Grey - permission is mandatory

In the case of the Mydex connection there are three specific pieces of data that Mydex has permission to access - your Mydex ID that you set when you first created your account, your email address and the date you created the account.  In addition, for security purposes Mydex maintains a record of the date your account was last accessed and, if relevant, also records the date you last used the ‘Feedback’ or Contact us’ functions.
 
In all instances Mydex has permission to both read and update (write) this information but only by asking you for your agreement to do so first.  These settings are necessary for the Mydex service to work and hence all these settings are shown in the pale grey ‘Mandatory’ colour scheme and cannot be changed.
 
If you have a connection where you are able to change the permissions then for each permission you will be able to tick or untick it by clicking the tick box to the left of the permission (so if you untick ‘Write’ on a piece of data then the third party will no longer be able to update it.   The tick will be removed and the colour bar will turn red.  To move the particular ‘permissions’ setting between ‘automatic’ (blue) and ‘request’ (dark green) you click and hold the slider on the permission and drag it left and right until you have the setting you require.
 
Once you have made changes to the permissions then click on ‘Submit’ at the bottom of the screen to apply these changes.