Setting Your Preferences and How to Change Them

There are some choices you can make about the way your PDS works and these options are available in ‘Preferences’. To set or change your preferences click on ’My Settings’ on the left hand side of the screen and then click the ‘Preferences’ tab at the top.
 
Your preferences are shown in the panel. At the moment there is only two preference options available but as other functions and options become available this is where they will be displayed.
 

Linked Fields

You can choose whether or not you want identical fields (data) to be linked and hence to update everywhere in your PDS when you change any one of them.  For example, if you enter a new mobile telephone number for yourself, you can have your PDS updated everywhere that your mobile telephone number is recorded and shared. This preference enables you to define how your PDS should handle this.  The recommended setting, Manual update, is already enabled and shown by the highlighted button.  Manual update simply means every time you update a field that occurs elsewhere in your PDS it will ask you if want to update the other occurrences, it provides you with a list of them and lets you decide at the time the update occurs.
All you need to do is is decide what you want to do, which can be either:

  • ‘Never update the linked fields’, or
  • Manual update - ask me whenever I have changed linked fields (recommended)

Make your choice and simply click ‘Save’ to apply the preference.
 
When you are satisfied that your preferences are exactly as you want them to be, click ‘save’ if you have changed any of them and then click on ‘My data’ to return to your main data tabs.

Automatic timeout

For security reasons the default setting of your PDS logs you out after 5 minutes of inactivity but for your convenience you may wish to change this, especially if you are accessing via a private computer that no-one else uses. The options available are 5 minutes, 15 minutes, 30 minutes, 1 hour or the maximum setting which keeps you logged in for 2 hours.
 
To adjust the automatic timeout setting simply use the pulldown menu under the ‘Automatic Timeout’ option and select the length of time you would like.
 

Make your choice and simply click ‘Save’ in the top right corner of the window to apply the preference.
 
When you are satisfied that your preferences are exactly as you want them to be, click ‘Save’ if you have changed any of them and then click on ‘My data’ to return to your main data tabs.